Fun with Fermentation: Part Tepache

Spring turns me into a bee. I find myself buzzing around this warm, beautiful city looking for wildflowers and sweet things to enjoy. This has made work a little difficult because I just want cook and go on nature walks, but I can’t…I have two jobs and bills so here I am hunched over a screen in an air-conditioned room. Though, I honestly enjoy both jobs and the room I am in is pretty nice so I can’t complain much. I also started the day with a nice glass of home-made tepache which is thick and delicious and makes this bee very happy.

Tepache is a fermented drink made out of pineapple rind, water, spices and sugar and it is so ridiculously easy to make that I am kicking myself for not doing it sooner. The thing is I rarely buy pineapples…I grew up in the desert, it just isn’t part of my diet and it tends to be expensive so I never feel compelled to have it.

This is where awesome neighbors (with awesome blogs) come in! I went over to my neighbor’s house to borrow some apple cider vinegar and he had some pineapple rind left over that he had saved and offered to me. How did he know that I have always wanted to make tepache? I still don’t know…I’ve never told him, but he knows me fairly well so maybe it is obviously something I would do. Anyway, I took the rinds home with a little spring in my step and commenced the experiment in fementation.

What you will need:

A pot that can hold three liters of water
2 3/4 cup of brown sugar or piloncillo
Cinnamon
Cloves (optional)
Pineapple rind from one pineapple
Water

Tepache

Throw it all in there!

Directions:

1-Rinse the pineapple rind well and place in pot

2-Add 3 liters of water , 2 3/4 cups of sugar, and spices

3-Let sit for 72 hours. DO NOT OPEN THE POT AFTER YOU HAVE CLOSED IT.

Voila!

Tepache

Don’t even think about opening before it is ready.

Results: 

Thick and sweet like nectar with a little fiz from the fermentation process. I really liked it and would consider making it again. There are lots of other recipes out there so I might consider adding in some gluten free beer to aid in fermentation or straining and cutting with water. I’d call this experiment a success and would like to try it with other kinds of fruits.

superheron

His “I’m going to murder you in your sleep” face and happy face happen to be the same.

The  real lesson here folks is to get to know your neighbors and share with them because community creates well-being and accountability. Have a happy Thursday everyone!

Leave a Reply

